Station / Estación # 160: Olivos

th_IMG_8065

I jumped back on a train after my visit to Tezonco, satisfied with the tacos and set off one further station down the line to Olivos.  Looming large, just a few blocks from the station is ‘El Cerro de las Minas’ (The Hill of Mines) so I set off towards it, determined to get a closer look.

Along the way I came across some vibrant street art, a sleeping dog and a friendly fellow roamer.  I could tell at 20 paces that he was inebriated, most likely from cheap fire water, and he asked me for 10 pesos but was happy enough to accept a few minutes of banter instead.

I reached the base of the hill and looked up and enjoyed the colours.  Some minutes later I turned around to continue my walk.  Right next to the mine entrance I noticed a nondescript building.  A hissing sound of a spray gun caught my attention and I peered inside – bright, colourful graffiti art on the walls.  What have I come across?

A pulquería!  In the most unlikely of places and with a killer view.  I wandered in and found out that vanilla or coffee pulques were the blends of the day or au naturel, if you will.  I had arrived at Pulquería Las Minas.  This is their facebook page.

It turned into a good hour or so, sipping my vanilla pulque which seemed to grow in the glass – thick and viscous – I wondered how I would ever get through it.  A few locals dropped by and I photographed some of the walls.  Ascending the hill used to be possible but now, according to one of my new acquaintances, the quasi-political group ‘Frente Popular Francisco Villa‘ permits it no more.  Why?  I don’t know.

Anyway, with a frothy pulque rolling around my belly I set on my way again and chose a route that took me past the group’s headquarters, it seems, with murals of revolutionaries in black and white.

A Lost parakeet and Crocodile street, blue skies and  colours a treat but none can beat taking a seat, resting my feet and guzzling a pulque in the afternoon heat.

Over. and. out.

Me subi a un tren después de mi visita a Tezonco, satisfecho con los tacos y viajé una estación más a Olivos.  Cerca y grande, a unas cuadras de la estación está “El Cerro de la Minas’ así me dirigi hacía alla, decidido a verlo de más cerca.

En el camino pasé arte callejero vivido, un perro durmiendo y un vago amigable.  Desde una distancia de 20 pasos sabía que estaba ebrio, probablemente de tomar aguardiente barato y me pidió 10 pesos pero se quedó contento solo con unos minutos de charla.

Llegué a la base del cerro y miré hacia arriba, disfrutando de los colores.  Unos minutos después me di la vuelta para continuar mi caminata.  Justo al lado de la entrada a la mina vi un edificio anodino.  Un sonido de siseo me llamó la atención y miré por dentro – arte brillante y colorido sobre las paredes.  ¿Qué había encontrado?

¡Una pulquería!  En un lugar muy inesperado y con una vista increíble. Entré y me enteré que pulques de vainilla y café eran los curados del día o natural si prefieres.  Había llegado a Pulquería Las Minas.  Esta es su pagina de facebook.

Pasé una hora buena, tomando mi pulque de vainilla que al parecer crecía en el vaso – grueso y viscoso- me pregunté cómo lo iba a terminar.  Llegaron unas personas y saqué unas fotos de las paredes.  Solía ser posible subir el cerro pero ahora, según uno de mis nuevos amigos, el grupo político ‘Frente Popular Francisco Villa‘ ya no lo permite.  Por qué?  No lo sé.

En todos casos con un pulque espumoso en mi panza continué vagando.  Elegí una ruta que me llevó al sede del grupo, al parecer, con murales de revolucionarios en blanco y negro.

 Periquita perdida, Cocodrilo avenida, calles muy coloridas pero todas vencidas por relajar con la mente a la deriva, los pies arriba en el calorcito del día, pulque en la mano querida por una estancia merecida en mi pulquería preferida.

Cambio. y.  fuera.

Over. and. out.

Leave a comment